Local Elections May 2016 – Candidates and Results

ballot boxLocal Elections May 2016

Winchester City Council has published the names of those validly nominated for election to Compton & Shawford Parish Council, and for our newly-created District Council Ward.

[Post Election update] The names of those elected are on the Winchester City Council Election Results web page.


Compton & Shawford Parish Council

There are 9 seats on our Parish Council and only 7 nominations were received.

The 7 candidates are declared elected unopposed, and can formally take up their seat on 10 May 2016 at the first meeting of the new Council, after signing the Declaration of Acceptance of Office .

The Parish Council will seek to fill the remaining places on the Council by co-option. See Becoming a Councillor.

The successful candidates are:

Name of Candidate
JORDAN, Robert Edwin
SADLER, Naomi Jane
STEVENS, Una Maria
TOWNELL, Marc Stephen

Winchester City Council

Badger Farm and Oliver’s Battery Ward

Our parish is now part of the three-member Badger Farm and Oliver’s Battery Ward which was created by merging two former wards: Compton & Otterbourne and Oliver’s Battery & Badger Farm.

As there are 10 candidates for the three seats, this election will be contested on 5 May 2016.

This year is a one-off for the City Council. Normally, District Councillors’ four-year terms on the City Council are staggered, with one third of the District Councillors coming up for for election every year (three years out of four). There are County Council elections the fourth year of the cycle.

Because the whole City Council is up for election this year, in order to get back to the staggered cycle of elections, in our ward the District Councillor who receives the most votes will receive a four year term, while the two runners-up will receive shorter terms.

The candidates are:

Name of CandidateDescription (if any)
BARTON-BRIDDON, ChrisUK Independence Party ( UKIP )
BELL, EleanorLiberal Democrats
DICK, Gavin CraigConservative Party Candidate
DUCKER, RobConservative Party Candidate
LAMING, Brian LeslieLiberal Democrats
REES, Alun GlynLabour Party
REES, PeterLabour Party
ROMERO, John LouisLiberal Democrats
TETTMAR, Jonathan PaulLabour Party
WARWICK, JanConservative Party Candidate