Parish Boundary Reviews and Changes

Past and Proposed Parish Boundary Reviews and Changes

This list is not necessarily complete.


Year Boundary Type Notes
1894 Compton civil parish Civil parish created. First Parish Council Chairman W Abraham.
1956 Compton civil parish Oliver’s Battery ceased to be part of Compton Parish and became a Parish in its own right
1985 Compton & Shawford civil parish Minor tweaks to our boundaries with Olivers Battery, Otterbourne and Twyford. Badger Farm Parish created from parts of Olivers Battery, Compton and unparished areas of Winchester. Our parish renamed Compton & Shawford. 1985. Details in the  Boundary Commission report 

The ecclesiastical parish boundary is unchanged. Compare the civil and ecclesiastical boundaries.

1987 Ecclesiastical Benefice All Saints Compton Parish joined with St Matthews Otterbourne Parish as members of the new United Benefice of Compton & Otterbourne
? Hampshire County Council Electoral Division We are part of Winchester Downlands Division. Parishes included are Compton & Shawford, Otterbourne, Hursley, Olivers Battery, Badger Farm, Sparsholt, Littleton and Harestock, Crawley, and South Wonston
2002 District Ward Boundary Compton Ward merged with Otterbourne and Hursley ward to become a single ward called Compton & Otterbourne and having two District Councillors.

See Parish mag article October 1999 and

Local Government Commission July 2000 Final Report

2007 Ecclesiastical Benefice The United Benefice expanded to include the ecclesiastical parish of All Saints Hursley. Renamed the United Benefice of Compton, Hursley and Otterbourne.
2015 District Ward Boundary The Representation of the People Act 1983 (as amended) requires a review of Polling Districts and Polling Places on a regular five yearly cycle.

The Boundary Commission’s recommended new ward structure for Winchester came into force at the 2016 Local Elections. The number of District Councillors is reduced from 57 to 45. We became part of a new ward, called Badger Farm & Oliver’s Battery, which contains the parishes of Badger Farm, Compton & Shawford, Hursley, Oliver’s Battery and Otterbourne.

Local Government Boundary Commission’s Final Recommendations

2016 County Division Boundary The Boundary Commission draft recommendations about Hampshire County electoral division boundaries were published in November 2015. We, together with the other parishes in our district ward, remain part of Winchester Downlands Division.

After being deferred to allow further consultation on the recommendations for the Havant and New Forest areas, LGBCE published its final recommendations on 9 September 2016. There is no change that affects us or immediate adjoining parishes: our parish remains in Winchester Downlands Division.

2015 Civil parish Boundary Review We were told that WCC planned a Community Governance Review (CGR) to identify (and hopefully rectify) any parish boundary problems within Winchester District. We are waiting for more details.