Best Local Council Website 2012

HALC Website Competition 2012
Webmaster Adrian Walmsley receives the shield on behalf of Compton & Shawford Parish Council.
Acknowledgements to Sue Ramage for the photo.
Dateline Saturday 27 October 2012

At the Hampshire Association of Local Councils AGM, held  in the Jubilee Hall in Hartley Wintney, Compton and Shawford was announced as the Winner of the Best Local Council Website for 2012.

Webmaster Adrian Walmsley is shown here receiving the e-mango shield from HALC Chairman, Eastleigh Borough Councillor Anne Winstanley, and Gordon Fong, MD of competition sponsor e-mango.

Congratulations to Denmead Parish Council, winners of the competition in 2010 and 2011 who were placed second this year, and to Bramley Parish Council who took third place.

Local MP Steve Brine says: “It’s a cracking site and I love the fact it is 100% compatible with my iPhone which was very useful the other night when I was looking for something while working late in the Commons.”

In the Hampshire ALC Communication Awards for the Best Local Council Newsletter, sponsored by Microshade VSM, Botley won first prize, with Tadley as runner-up. Last year’s winner, Denmead, was placed third.

Hartley Wintney clerk Leah Coney, last year’s runner-up, won the Kirk Shield for Clerk of the Year 2012.

Webmaster’s comments

We were delighted and honoured to receive this recognition and we thank HALC for organising the competition.

Our website is still very much a work in progress.

We would welcome comments and suggestions about how the site could be improved. Offers of help would be welcome too.

Use the comment form below or email the webmaster.